A perfect non-date

21 Oct

Last Friday night out with friends I revealed my perfectly zany date idea. It includes fabulous eveningwear, luscious silverware and a very daggy MacDonald’s. This splendid idea occurred to me years and years ago. I used to live in a very small town. No big-brand take-out joints. But in the next town over we eventually got the Golden Arches. And one evening I was there when I came up with the concept of the swish date at MacDonald’s. Right now I imagine myself there with that special someone in formal attire. For myself I picture a long gown in midnight blue, lacy, with thin straps. A tux of course for my date, with a red carnation in the buttonhole. For the date we require: two white china plates, two silver dome plate covers, silver cutlery, candelabra etc… Imagine – Big Macs eaten with a knife and fork! We drink lemonade out of champagne flutes.

I’m quite surprised at how excited my friends seem by my idea. K said we should have a dedicated photographer, and another someone to look after clothing and make-up. It’s becoming quite a production really. Another friend asked if this was ‘first date’ material. Absolutely not! I think it would have to be with someone who has a good sense of the ridiculous and who would appreciate it and not be embarrassed to play along!

The thing I really like about the Maccas idea is that it is combining two elements that normally don’t face off. Classy and daggy. G suggested the date should happen at “the best Macdonalds” in the world. But I think that is missing the point. I love the idea of a dodgy Maccas somewhere in the suburbs, with broken tables and other patrons looking on aghast.

Since last friday night I tried to find out if anyone else in the world has acted on this idea. Instead I found a wonderfully cheesy website dedicated to ideas for Romantic dates. I’ll leave you with some of my favourites:

Decorate a Cake

Go ahead to your local bakery or store and purchase a cake with no design whatsoever. Buy some icing and decorate them yourselves. After that, be playful and stick some icing in each other’s face.

Cherry Picking

Being on a place surrounded by cherries is simply amazing. Pick some cherries up then give it to your partner. Pop it in his/her mouth. Run around the farm and be playful

Play Marbles

Bring back the memories when you were still in kindergarten. Buy some marbles and play with them.

6 Responses to “A perfect non-date”

  1. Emily October 22, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    Love the marble idea its gold πŸ™‚ may I also suggest a good game of twister πŸ™‚

  2. Amy October 24, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    I love your Macca’s idea Rinsk! I can totally picture it in my head, like in a film clip or a short film or something. That would be cool! πŸ™‚

    • captaindecibel October 24, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

      Yeah its been floating in my head for sometime now. I think it needs to be actioned!

  3. MissCrusoe October 25, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    Seriously I blushed when I red about picking cherries then popping it into his/her mouth – I sure hope no one tried this out on suggestion;)…

    it would be interesting if you could shoot your scene in a Maccas in asia…stirling silver chopsticks!

    • captaindecibel October 25, 2010 at 1:56 am #

      πŸ˜‰ Sheesh!

      Maybe I can start a revolution and continue the formal Macca’s date and host them in every major city in the world!!

Leave a Reply

