Famous Five adventures

25 Nov

My love of books started at a very young age. My mum was my biggest influence and supplier. She started me off on Famous Five books. Since then I’ve had a very big love of Enid Blyton. All those lovable characters. I used to read and re-read those books often. I can still picture them – hard cover and old and falling to bits. I wonder where they ended up? I can still remember the adventures that the kids had in those books, tramping over the moors and meeting interesting circus folk, discovering mysteries and drinking the best of food which always included pink lemonade in excess!

George was always my favourite character and I often dreamt of owning my own island to escape to. Between that and my obsession with Swiss Family Robinson, fantasies involved islands and tree houses and interesting pets.

Tuesday night I watched “Enid” a loosely based movie about my favourite childhood author. Its interesting that I have never looked into the life of the lady who wrote all those fabulous books. She had an upsetting young life which led to delusions in later life. Her father left the family when she was just a child and when Enid was still quite young she in turn left her mother and two brothers. She neglected her children and her husband living most of her life in her wonderful imagination, and being immersed in her fan-mail.

In later years she was accused of not writing all the books herself and eventually fell into dementia before her death at the age of 71. Can you believe she set herself a goal of writing 6,000 words per day! What a machine! I’m not sure how I feel about the film as I really don’t know much about her real life (research to do!) but it was interesting and revealing.

My other favourite author at a younger age was Roald Dahl. The first book of his that I ever bought was “The BFG”. I loved his bizarre language, all the talk of the snozzcumbers and the delicious sounding frobscottle. There really needs to be an entire post dedicated to Mr Dahl he is so marvellous. More on him later!

Who were your favourite childhood authors?

5 Responses to “Famous Five adventures”

  1. Miss Crusoe November 25, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    Enid was definitely my favourite author! I think I probably spent a few months of my childhood buried in the Famous Five/Secret Seven (not as good as the Famous Five)/Children of Cherry-tree Farm/The Adventurous Four/The Magic Far Away Tree…and the list goes on…I loved the trusted appearance of ‘secret panels’ and/or ‘smugglers!’…
    Sadly, I also saw the movie and I think it slightly disillusioned me. She clearly used her writing as an escape, but the irony her children and husband endured killed me – she obviously hadn’t pondered on the term ‘breaking the cycle’…

  2. Emily December 2, 2010 at 4:27 am #

    C.S Lewis was my all time favourite childhood author, Voyage of the dawn treader was just the best :)and also Roald Dahl gotta love the story of the annoying girl who gets eaten by the croc hehehe.

    • Croc December 12, 2011 at 5:19 am #

      Which story is the one where the girl gets eaten by the crocodile? I love stories like that! 🙂

      • captaindecibel December 12, 2011 at 9:56 am #

        Croc – I think you’re thinking of The Enormous Crocodile by Roald Dahl.

  3. Michelle December 11, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    I’m with you there on Enid Blyton. I too loved the Famous Five Books. Also Carolyn Keene who wrote the Nancy Drew books – I devoured those books as a girl!

Leave a Reply

