A glide in your stride and a dip in your hip…

9 Dec

Have you ever caught yourself standing at a concert surrounded by the crowds smiling like an idiot? I often find myself doing that. I guess music makes me happy. I listen to it a lot. And live music is where I really start to feel involved. What kind of concert-goer are you? Do you like to feel a part of what is going on, on-stage? Tap your foot? Dance on the spot? Or stand complete still with your hands folded in front of your chest?

I like to move to the music. Even if it’s just a toe tap in a crowded venue, I need to move. I like also to look around a venue at the other punters. What I usually find is that I’m the person with the biggest silliest smile on my face. I can’t help myself. On Sunday night I went to see Sharon Jones and Dap-Kings play at the Tivoli, a wonderful venue in Brisbane. My brother S got me into them earlier in the year after taking a trip to New Orleans. He brought back lots of new music and heaps of stories of the new sounds. So when I noticed that the soul singer was coming to town we booked. It was a fantastic night. Sharon Jones was mesmerising. A real performer. She had us all in the palm of her hand, such a connection especially to the front few rows of people. That’s where I was.

Moments of interest – seeing one particularly excitable chap to the left of me dancing flamboyantly much to the chagrin of his girlfriend who was trying to keep him in line. He was invited up on stage and got to dance around rather seductively and got a kiss at the end of the night! Not from his girlfriend mind you. By the time the lights came on once more she was nowhere to be seen.

I walked out of that concert a little bit in love. I’m having a party this weekend – I think funk/soul will be featuring heavily on the set-list!

A note in passing: One way to really get to know your friends is to judge their reaction to spiders. I’ve never been freaked about them. In fact at an early age it was known I was the heroic friend dismantling spider’s webs if need-be. I’m still intrigued when people shriek and flee when they see them. The only thing that I sincerely freak out about are cockroaches. I don’t think anything should be able to live up to two weeks without its head!

5 Responses to “A glide in your stride and a dip in your hip…”

  1. Michelle December 11, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    I’m with you on dancing! At a concert I like to feel alive and a part of it – so I dance my socks off.

    Daniel stands there, feet tapping – and once in a while he’ll even bust out a move. If its a band he *loves* he’ll dance the night away.

    • cara December 13, 2010 at 8:44 am #

      Yep, judging from the angle of the shots, we were definitely standing near to eachother.
      I like to move at a concert – I feel like I’m letting the musicians down if I just stand there. (And how could you not at this one?) You get into it, they get into it and it’s a better gig all round. That’s what I reckon.

      • captaindecibel December 13, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

        Thanks for stopping by. I thought the same when I saw your photo of Sharon. And I’m glad you saw my thoughts of getting involved at a concert!
        The best concert I have been to for audience participation was The Original Wailers at the start of the year at the Hi-Fi bar – I think the whole audience was dancing. Such a good vibe!

  2. Elle December 16, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    I truly admire your indifference to spiders! And was that a reference to your front line position on our expeditions to S Island? What memories!

    • captaindecibel December 22, 2010 at 5:29 am #

      It certainly was, and other even younger memories too of hanging out on the swing in our back garden. Good times.

Leave a Reply

