It’s My Party And I’ll Cry If I Want To

19 Dec

I seem to be brimming with party and general evening ideas. I’ve hosted a daggy music party with contributions from all who came. From the outset I asked everyone to bring along their top five daggiest tunes from their CD collection/Ipod/Iphone. Some people were more prolific than others in contributions! There was some really interesting submissions and the night ended with a dag off between two friends. G ended it beautifully with his final selection being the intro to long running TV soap Home and Away.

I don’t think anyone anticipated that! I really want to have a Part II to that night. I think we can go daggier! Or can we?

We recently hosted the Lash and Stash party, the beginnings of which started back in May 2009 in Sydney instigated by my brother. The Stash idea came first but of course we had to have something for the girls to get into. We had a range of real mo’s, fake mo’s, and outstanding lashes. I think what the party idea showed was that everyone loves a mo – fake or otherwise to laugh at. And fake eyelashes can be fantastic and as dramatic as you like! 

  
So what next? I have thoughts on a Trivia night (please check all phones at the door). Or I have another idea for a Movie night where everyone invited brings along their favourite movie/s and plays their favourite scene.

There are others – what about a John Hughes themed party? I could come dressed as Molly Ringwald’s character in The Breakfast Club?

Or that hideous prom dress in Pretty in Pink?

(What is it with redheads and pink?)

Or else the ultimate party – Seinfeld inspired!!


“No soup for YOU!”

What are your favourite party ideas?

3 Responses to “It’s My Party And I’ll Cry If I Want To”

  1. Devin December 22, 2010 at 4:45 am #

    I went to a seinfeld themed party and had a blast! they even served soup! haha. I went as eleine and loved all the people who dressed as the lesser known characters.

    • captaindecibel December 22, 2010 at 5:10 am #

      That is awesome!!! When we thought up the Seinfeld idea I thought it would be restricted to the four main characters but there are many awesome lesser-known characters! Did you do the little-kicks dance?

  2. mariaelizaday March 15, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    REDHEADS AND PINK? HMM NEXT DYING SESSIONS I SHALL TRY IT OUT FOR YOU, JUST NEED A PINK DRESS

Leave a Reply

