Brain Shuffle

6 Jan

A new technician has started at my work place this week and the first thing that came to mind was – ‘doesn’t he look like Jeremy Clarkson?’

It’s made me realize a couple of things about my brain. I categorise people in an interesting way. A lot of the time a new person I meet will remind me of a famous person. Exhibit A above.
Sometimes I’ll feel convinced that I have seen the person before. Or else I’ll think that strangers are people I know. That always got to my mum. She was sick of hearing me say, “I know him!”

One year my family took a road trip from the West coast to the East coast of Australia and whilst driving the Nullabor plain I saw a guy driving along that I could have sworn was someone I went to TAFE with. Turns out he wasn’t. No surprises there.

If only the new guy at work looked more like Jeremy’s counter-part, James May. *sigh*

3 Responses to “Brain Shuffle”

  1. Jones February 26, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    Reading this post I realized we have something totally in common – but its something I never knew about you!!!

    I do the exact same thing!!! Whenever I meet someone new, or there’s a new speaker at meeting – I always associate them with a famous person. Always. It slightly annoys Daniel at times! He gets a little over all my comparisons! He says “you always think people look like someone famous”. I’ll sit there dying in meeting looking at the brother who reminds me of Neil Patrick Harris (that happened a few weeks back) or Julia Louise Dreyfus (sister in my cong). Sometimes its someone who is funny, and I am dying inside. Especially if its in the public talk.

    I love that we’re alike like that!!! And that I didn’t know that about you!!! I so wish we lived near each other. Meetings together would be that much more hilarious now. Even day to day life. Meeting someone new together, giving each other that look “yep. they totally look like Will Arnett”. (another brother in my cong).

    • captaindecibel February 26, 2011 at 3:50 am #

      You associate with someone who looks like Will Arnett? Dash it, I’m coming over!! 🙂

  2. Jones February 26, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    ps my boss is totally Jason Segel!

Leave a Reply

