Spick n Span

18 Jan


Our friends in Dudley Street West End have now cleaned, moved and then disinfected their unit and said goodbye to life so close to the river. I wonder if they would ever choose to go back now that they have felt the effects of the flood?

I’m going to WA tomorrow morning. Leaving behind this mud and stench for a while. It makes me kind of sad in a way. I want to be around to help more with the clean-up effort. It is a beloved city for me now. It feels like home. I would like to be here to see it be restored. I walked along the  streets of West End on Sunday with my bags of quiches for the helpers. It was really wonderful to see so many people enthusiastically working, and wanting to help. People were being turned away as most houses had been cleaned and cleared out. Not so further West where my brother was helping late Sunday afternoon. They are going to need more hands out that way in the next few weeks.

Side point? What things would you save in an emergency as you rushed out of your home? A friend said her jewellery collection would be top of that list. I had never thought of that in the past but yes. I would also scoop up my important documents like passports, birth certificates. Photo albums. My laptop. My diaries. Some of my cherished books.

What about you?

Anyway, doesn’t mean I’m not ridiculously excited about my trip. I’m looking forward to seeing WA number-plates, reading familiar street signs, visiting the beach daily and of course my family and friends. Yay. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep you updated with a few of the goings on over the next couple of weeks. Byeeeeeeeee…

3 Responses to “Spick n Span”

  1. Steph February 3, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    been and gone bout time you come home and entertain me with pic,s of your holiday …..hehe

  2. mariaelizaday March 15, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    LETTERS?

    • captaindecibel March 28, 2011 at 2:28 am #

      Yes, absolutely, of course. How could I have left them out?

Leave a Reply

