Favourite movie scenes night

27 Mar

My picks in the order they appeared on the night:

Best Scenes:

+  Some Like it Hot – Jack Lemmon, dressed in drag proclaims to Tony Curtis that he is engaged to Osgood Fielding III

+ Rushmore – the revenge montage between Bill Murray and Jason Schwartzman


+ Two Hands – aussie black comedy, namely the coughing scene. If you have seen it, you will know why this one is so epic.

Worst scene:

+ Pearl Harbour (so many to choose from) – Alec Baldwin’s self-righteous speech near the end that ends with the line, “But that’s just me.” Gets me every time. to quote another fabulous movie, ‘he’s so cheesy I can’t watch him without crackers.’

Watching that scene now, years after seeing this for the first time at the movies he just cracks me up rather than making me groan. I think that’s because I just picture him in his pompous role in 30 Rock, a brilliant comedy.

Honorable mentions need to go to the end scene in the subway system in the Matrix, The Princess Bride with Vizinni and the iocane powder, the beautiful piano piece at the end of The Pianist with Adrien Brody and the German officer, the dance in Napoleon Dynamite and the ending of The Graduate that is really wonderfully parodied in Waynes World II.

As for worst scenes I think B may have stolen the show with a dance sequence from Footloose. Tragic!

2 Responses to “Favourite movie scenes night”

  1. Michelle March 28, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    I’m with you on Rushmore and Pearl Harbor!!!

    • captaindecibel March 28, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

      I knew you would M! And I thought of you when choosing that speech from Pearl Harbor, reminding me of our time on the GC together!

Leave a Reply

