Where the love affair began

26 Apr

Back in 1999 watching Notting Hill for the first time I first came across the wonderful voice of Elvis Costello. Since that point it has been a long lasting love affair. I know it sounds pretentious and naff. But its the truth. He’s been my number one ever since then. The first song I heard of his was “She” which isn’t even his own song, but was beautifully sung by him for the closing credits of the movie.

The first album I bought was  Extreme Honey – The Very Best of the Warner Years. And the fascination grew. I collected more and more of his albums, old ones as well as the brand new eclectic fare that he seems to be dabbling in these days. The early punk rock and his anger really got me. But it was always that amazing voice that held me.

Back in 2005 I finally got to see him live in concert in Brisbane, making a special trip to come see him from Western Australia. He played the Concert Hall at Qpac promoting The Deliveryman album. I went along with my brother, S, and a friend, B. I was reveling in every moment of it, although I suspect B would have preferred less ballads. However we did get to hear “I Want You” in all its tragic glory. Beautiful!

I have seen Elvis twice since that year – one time in San Francisco. That was pretty splendid. I knew about the concert before I got to the US but hadn’t planned or banked on going. But one of the girls I was with was pretty keen too so we went down and got our tickets and entered into the venue with our hands stamped “Over 21” as Elvis was on stage. In a wonderful twist it just so happened that the concert covered the first 10 years of his career – so we got to hear all the early favourites. Bliss!

The latest time I saw him play was 2009 in Brisbane again at the Convention Centre. N and I were seated a fair distance from Elvis and his guitars but was no less fantastic!

I love that he is always growing in his musical repertoire. And that voice is magic.

Elvis Costello played last night and will play again tonight at Byron Bay for the East Coast Blues and Roots festival. It kills me that I don’t get to see him. Please come back to Brisbane soon Elvis!

Leave a Reply

