Midnight in Paris

10 Oct

Image courtesy of http://www.filmofilia.com/

I had a very pleasant Sunday afternoon. My plans changed and I was able to get along to Palace Centro to an advance screening of Woody Allen’s latest film.

Some of my friends were in Paris back in June, and have been waxing poetic about the streets, and the cafes, and the sights and the people and how it’s really “my city” and I should get there as soon as possible. Then we saw the preview to this film and the beauty is overwhelming.

Because I wasn’t expecting to see this film yesterday I didn’t have the long build up like most “must see” film adventures. My brother and a good friend, S, and I went along together. We started with large slices of cake and coffee before hand. Then into the cinema with glasses of sparkling wine. I had a horrible feeling that it would disappoint after so much anticipation. But it excelled.
Woody – you’re back! Thank goodness. It was beautiful! I want to see it again and bask in its¬†loveliness. It’s funny and well-written and so cute! Loved it.

Midnight in Paris is released in Australia on the 20th October. More details on the Palace Cinemas website.

2 Responses to “Midnight in Paris”

  1. HeyJowhereugoin October 28, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    Sorry it has taken me this long to get around to commenting (like so many things in my life at the moment)…I saw this movie (clearly a pirated version) a few weeks ago and well, yes, must agree, Woody is back! It must be an experience so many undergo when they visit Paris. Idealising bygone eras; berating our own. And I loved loved loved all of the literary and artistic figures that he interspersed into the plot…Someone’s been reading ‘A Moveable Feast’ I see…

    • captaindecibel October 28, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

      Yes it was a beautiful love story to the artists and writers that Woody loves. A Moveable Feast is now on my ‘to read’ list!!

Leave a Reply

