Favourite places – Vesuvio Cafe

15 Oct

Back in 2007 I was in the US for a very good friend’s wedding and decided to visit San Francisco amongst other places. I fell in love with it and even to this day I still think of it with much warmth and love. I LOVED NYC, and I would love to live there once in my life. But San Fran was a total surprise in that I fell in love with it when I wasn’t expecting to. It feels so much like my sort of town. Laid-back, seriously cool. Cool weather so I could wear funky coats and scarves. A place I could feel comfortable in. Oh that bridge!
I spoke to a guy from the UK while I was staying at the Adelaide Hostel who told me that he also had fallen in love with the city, but when asked why, he couldn’t define it. I felt the same way. It was just… everthing. It just felt right.

One of the best nights spent there started with a an Elvis Costello concert. He is one of my favourite musicians of all time. And we just happened to be in town at the same time and one of the friends I was with was also a fan so we convinced the group. Elvis was performing the hits from the first ten years of his career. I remember the blur of screaming, getting our ‘Over 21’ stamps, picking up a tshirt. It was brilliant. Afterwards scouting for a bar to have a drink in S remembered the little spot opposite City Lights bookstore. Cafe Vesuvio. And today I was remembering my time there as I read about the history of the bar.

Image courtesy of http://www.sfphotorama.com

Vesuvio Cafe

San Francisco, California

Travelers should love this landmark as it is the stomping grounds of many Beat Generation writers including Jack Kerouac, Neal Cassady, and Allen Ginsburg. The cafe is also right across the street from the famous City Lights bookstore. According to Stephanie Yoder at BootsnAll, there is a famous story of Kerouac “holing up in the bar, getting incredibly wasted and missing an important meeting with Henry Miller”. If you visit, be sure to order The Jack Kerouac, a mixture of rum, tequila, and orange juice.

We didn’t sample the Jack Kerouac, but we did theatrically drink Irish Carbombs and mingle with the eclectic bar folk. I do remember a very amusing gent that worked there who my friends and I mistakenly called Allan all night. He ended up directing us to a great burger joint nearby and we ended the night with amazing cheeseburgers, fries and pale ales. It’s a night that will go down in history, certainly a night I remember with a big grin.

2 Responses to “Favourite places – Vesuvio Cafe”

  1. Breehan October 17, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    Well I’m exceedingly jealous! That story has it all! Groovey city + awesome music legend + tasty food + great literary drunks. Lurve ittttt!

    • captaindecibel October 17, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

      Oh why thank you Breehan!! Lovely to have you amongst my comments!

Leave a Reply

