She gave my pride a short back and sides

25 Dec

I can’t quite believe it but I’ve never attended a musical instore before. So in an effort to do something new and to see one of my favourite Aussie singer/songwriters I got along to my local record store – Jet Black Cat Records – to see Darren Hanlon. If you haven’t heard any of his songs before he has a wonderful witty way with words that accompany his folk music played either on guitar or uke.

My friend M alerted me to the performance and a good roomful of other fans got along too. Darren was about half an hour late owing to delays with his flight from Sydney. It was intimate, and the little store was crowded with hip people drinking ciders or soy iced coffees from Black Star. Darren knows how to deal with the audience and always looks comfortable up front, despite being so close in proximity to everyone. He played about seven songs in his reportoire including requests from the audience. I didn’t quite get in quick enough with my plea for “Couch surfing” but I was still thrilled he played some of my favourites – including Folk Insomnia, Punk’s Not Dead, and I waited for the 17 but the 17 never came… It was indeed a pleasant way to pass the afternoon.

 

If you haven’t had the pleasure of hearing his music take a listen to this tune:

2 Responses to “She gave my pride a short back and sides”

  1. Eliza February 22, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    Iwaitedfortheseventeenbuttheseventeennevercame! I had that in my head for days after 🙂

    • captaindecibel February 23, 2012 at 9:31 am #

      That song is great. He’s a wonderful lyrics man isn’t he?

Leave a Reply

