Countdown to Cleanse!

30 Jan

I have been a fan of Dr Sandra Cabot’s liver cleanse diet for some time now. And about two years ago I set myself the challenge of taking on the strict diet for two months. For the most part I stuck to it as well. I remember right near the start of the eight weeks I was invited to a friends place for a big curry night. What a nightmare. But I made sure I was prepared and brought along Vietnamese rice paper rolls for my dinner and avoided the coconut cream based delicious curries. Of course saying no to Naan and the Vindaloo was awful, but I resisted. In the midst of the cleanse I don’t think I’ve ever felt healthier in my life. It’s a really sensible way to eat. If I could keep it up all year round I think I would. Of course there is a glimmer of “probably” in there. Who doesn’t like creamy lindt milk chocolate?

So the basics of the diet: no fats (I have since learnt that “good fats” are ok – so olive oil, avocadoes, oily fish are all fine), no refined sugars, no processed foods, cut back alcohol consumption to just a few units per week, restrict caffeine intake – I usually had one coffee or tea per day, plenty of water or green tea. No red meat. Lean chicken is ok. No dairy (although I plan to have a little milk in my tea from time to time). They are the basics.

For the most part I found the diet easy to stick to. One of the things I liked best was my morning breakfasting. It all starts with a glass of water with lemon juice first up.  Followed by one or two glasses of vegetable juice – I chose the V8 variety for convenience. About half an hour later I would have two pieces of gluten-free toast with avocado and tomato. Delicious!

What I found that helped me stick to the diet was being well-prepared. Having snacks that I could eat throughout the day, or making sure I had something I could either whip up quickly or had precooked in the fridge when I didn’t have much time in the evenings.

Haha – I know. It all sounds very do-able when you’re not attempting it. I’m now sitting here in my lunchbreak munching on an extravegant meal of creamy pasta with chicken and bacon and tomatoes and it is delicious. I know I am going to miss this when it’s gone.

The first week I found difficult – I had cravings and headaches and felt pretty awful as my body got rid of the toxins. But after that point it was much easier.

Cleanse begins this coming Sunday! So this week is my last hooray! Bring on the cheese!!

Leave a Reply

