Searching for Sugarman

14 Oct

Embarrassingly I had never heard of Sixto Rodriguez until yesterday about midday. My brother wanted to see a movie in the evening and I was scouring the Palace Cinemas website to find out what had been released this week. I wanted to see Shadow Dancer, but then another movie poster caught my eye – Searching for Sugarman. I checked out the preview – it was very intriguing. A musician from the states who doesn’t gain a following in his homeland but sells a whole bunch in South Africa. But no one there knows who he is. Then a couple of curious musicologists go on a search to find out who this mysterious musician actually was, and whatever happened to him.

I won’t spoil what is to come in the documentary but  please do go see it! It’s thrilling, has you on the edge of your seat and it spread a massive cheesy grin all over my face many times throughout. What a gem!

Leave a Reply

