Sunday gig

15 Oct

Friday night I got a pleasant phone call from friend S asking if I’d like to go along with her to see Gomez on Sunday night. A friend of hers had bought two tickets but was really ill with tonsilitis. I decided I could happily take a half-price ticket. Last night we got to the wonderful Tivoli close to 9 to an almost packed house. I was expecting an older crowd. Mostly late 30s, early 40s, but there was a nice mix of old and new fans. I was surrounded by dedicated lovers of Gomez. We found ourselves near the front, our right ear intimately close to the big amp stack. They thrilled us with their tunes. I have a couple of their albums but it’s been years since I listened to them. But they felt familiar and they were so polished and tight – they were a band in control. As my friend S described it, you could feel confident and relax knowing that on stage were musicians that knew what they were doing. A fantastic night of great tunes. They packed so much into the two hours they played for. No sooner were they finished one song were they unstrapping guitars, swapping over instruments and moving onto something new anxious to give the crowd exactly what they wanted.

Unfortunately I heard today that this could be there last tour in Australia for some time. I believe they are entering an indeterminable hiatus.

 

Leave a Reply

