Back to Front

30 Sep

Image courtesy of wilcoworld.net

 

Over at a friends tumblr post, T put forth the idea of seeing how strong an album is, and proving it by listening it from the last song to the first instead of the other way around. Ever since I read that I’ve been eager to give it a shot. Yesterday I bought two new albums: Wilco – The Whole Love, and Kimbra – Vows.
I set up the playlists, and this morning on a very good looking day, as I was making my way to work I listened to Wilco’s latest album in full. It was my very first listen (apart from a few sneaky songs on the live stream last week). It started slowly and built, instead of the alternative. For this artist and this album, I thought it felt a refreshing way of listening. I was just waiting for it to take off. Which it did. The only negative is that it then felt like it ended slightly abruptly. I don’t think the concept of listening to an album will work for all music, but it was a great new experience for me.

Troy has a great tumblr site including his own artwork, music, videos etc… For more tumblr goodness from Troy check out his site here.

3 Responses to “Back to Front”

  1. Michelle October 1, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    I haven’t heard of Kimbra before. Am listening to her right now, and loving it!!!

  2. Troy October 3, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Well thank you very much!! Ive just finished up posting a batch of new stuff and thought I’d check out your blog, and totally didn’t expect to see a post giving my site a recommendation:-) Also, I’m chuffed you thought to try listening to an album back to front, I agree though that it only works with certain albums. I think for an unknown new discovery type album, front to back is the way I would go, but for something your really excited about, and there’s heaps of anticipation then its back to front for me. Im glad you like the stuff I’m posting, I’ll try and keep it up:-) thanks

    • captaindecibel October 5, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

      So glad you have been checking out my blog also T. Really been loving catching up with all your new art pieces and musical choices. I love that there is new stuff every day!

Leave a comment